Visible signs instituted by Christ
The Sacraments

The seven sacraments are: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation (or Confession) Anointing of the Sick, Marriage and Holy Orders

The traditional definition of a sacrament is this: “A sacrament is a visible sign, instituted by Christ, to give grace.” Within this definition there are three important statements:

A visible sign

An action is performed by a minister (usually a priest). For example, when a baby is baptised in the church the priest pours water over its head and at the same time says the words “I baptise you in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.” That is a visible sign.

Instituted by Christ

The Lord Jesus Christ instructed His church to offer the seven sacraments to His followers. For example, His directive to His disciples in Matthew’s Gospel (28:19), “Go, then, to all peoples everywhere and make them my disciples; baptise them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit and teach them to obey everything I have commanded you.”

To give grace

Grace is God’s free gift of Himself as the controlling influence in our life and the decisions we make once we have committed ourselves to Him in faith.

This section provides information on all the seven sacraments plus details of our RCIA programme and funerals.


Baptism is the beginning of our life of faith, the beginning of getting to know and understand what being loved by God means.

The Eucharist

The Eucharist is the sacrament in which we receive the Body and Blood of Christ. It is the source and summit of Christian life.


Also known as Confession or Penance, this sacrament can set us free from our sins, and from the burden of guilt that comes along with our sins.

First Holy Communion

Receiving the Body and Blood of Christ for the first time is a very special moment in a child’s life. We have a special programme to help them.


Confirmation continues what began at our Baptism: developing awareness of the reality of faith and the presence of the Holy Spirit in our lives.


The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults is a process of initiation into the Catholic Community of Faith. This is for those seeking baptism in or full communion the Catholic Church.


For any couple marriage is a life-changing step. In this sacrament they are inviting God to break into their relationship as a helper and a guide.

Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders began with the Last Supper, when Christ Jesus commissioned his Apostles to continue the Eucharistic celebration.

Anointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of the Sick provides spiritual help and strength to those who are unwell and is often administered to the housebound.


Preparing the funeral service of someone who has died can be a difficult thing to face. We are here to help you every step of the way.